2019 Pretty Polly Stakes: Race History

Good fillies have taken the Pretty Polly Stakes run at The Curragh on Friday.

Minding Picture: Pat Healy Photography

Minding did the deed in 2016. What will the 2019 Pretty Polly Stakes (2011m) at The Curragh on Friday bring?


The Pretty Polly Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for fillies and mares at the Curragh conducted by the Curragh Racecourse for Horse Racing Ireland.

The Pretty Polly Stakes is run over a mile and a quarter. It was first run in 1948 and was won by Cobatlic.

It is one of two races in Ireland for fillies and mares only. The other is the Matron Stakes.

Minding - Sea The Stars Pretty Polly Stakes (Group 1) - 2016

The Pretty Polly Stakes is run on the round course. It was only for fillies but became unrestricted.

Originally a Group 2 it was elevated to Group 1 in 2004.

The race is named after one of the greats. Pretty Polly won so many big races at the start of the last century including the Triple Crown.

Two horses have more than one win – Dance Design and Alexander Goldrun.

In the last decade, only three fillies have saluted.

Leading trainer is held by Vincent O'Brien with seven wins.

Six different jockeys have three wins in the race including Liam Ward, Bill Williamson, Johnny Roe, Lester Piggott, Christy Roche and Michael Kinane.

The Pretty Polly Stakes is worth €250,000 in 2019.

Notable winners of the Pretty Polly Stakes include Minding (2016), Izzi Top (2012), Misty For Me (2011), Dar Re Mi (2009), Peeing Fawn (2007), Alexander Goldrun (2005/2006), Rebelline (2001), Alborada (1998), Dance Design (1996/1997), Prince's Polly (1982), Godetia (1979) and Pidget (1972).

The 2018 Pretty Polly Stakes was won by Urban Fox from Forever Together and Athena.

Racing and Sports